- Free HI DMV Practice Tests for Car (11), Motorcycle (9) and CDL (12)
- How to Pass Your Hawaii Permit Test in 2016
How to Pass Your Hawaii Permit Test in 2016
Hawaii drivers need to have a driver’s license. Getting a driver’s license for the first time is a right of passage for many. It can also be a very stressful process. To successfully get your license you have to put in a lot of time practicing and learning the laws in your state. You also have to know where to go and what to bring along. This article aims to make the process a little simpler by guiding you through the process of getting your HI license. Good luck!
How To Proceed
Start Preparing for Your Hawaii Learners Permit
An important part of getting your drivers license is being able to practice your driving skills. Before you can do this you must get a learners permit. This requires you to fill out paperwork at the Hawaii DMV and to take a learners permit test. To prepare for this start learning about the requirements to drive in Hawaii. Some of the Hawaii drivers license requirements are that you must be at least 16 years old and you cannot have a suspended license in any other state.
Gather The Required Paperwork
You will need to supply various documentation to qualify for a Hawaii learners permit. It is a good idea to start gathering the paperwork early in the process so that you can determine what you have and start getting duplicates if necessary. In Hawaii you will need to bring in your U.S. passport, State of Hawaii photo ID, social security card, military ID or a W-2 form. Specific requirements regarding which paperwork you need can be obtained by contacting a DMV in Hawaii or by visiting their website.
Study the Hawaii Drivers Manual
Next you should pick up a copy of the Hawaii drivers manual. This guide will provide you with all the information you need to successfully pass your Hawaii permit test. Study this guide carefully and pay attention to the information on safety and traffic laws. You can get a copy of this guide from the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles. You can also download this guide online.
Take a Hawaii Drivers Permit Practice Test
Once you are comfortable with the information in the guide, try taking a practice test. This is a good way to be sure that you understand the information that will be covered in the test.
Fill Out the DMV Paperwork
When you go into the DMV for your permit test, you will need to fill out an application form. You will also provide your identification at this time and take a vision test. The fee for taking the written test is $2 and the permit fee is $5.
Take Your Permit Test
If you understand the information in the drivers manual you will be ready to take your permit test. This is a written test with multiple choice questions. You will be required to answer a variety of questions about vehicle safety and traffic laws. If you pass this test, you can get your permit.
Start Practicing Your Driving Skills
Once you receive your drivers permit, you can start practicing. Make sure that you have a licensed driver with you at all times. If you are under 18 you will have to have your permit for at least 180 days before you can take your drivers license test. While practicing make sure that you focus on defensive driving and test skills.
Schedule an Appointment for a Hawaii Drivers Test
Once you are comfortable with your ability to safely operate a vehicle, you can schedule your drivers test. You can make an appointment using Hawaii’s automated scheduling system.
Take Your Driving Skills Test
When you show up to the Hawaii DMV to take your skills test make sure that you bring along a licensed and registered vehicle. Don’t drive yourself since you don’t have a license yet. If you are under 18 you will need to have completed driving school, so also bring your certificates of completion. You will go on a short drive with a test administrator where you will show your ability to safely drive in traffic. Pay attention to other vehicles and always drive safely. Your skills test will cost $8.
Pay Your Fee and Enjoy Your License
Now all you have left to do is pay your fee and start enjoying your new license. In Hawaii your fee is dependent on how long you plan to hold the license. A 2 year license is $6, a 4 year license is $12 and an 8 year license is $24. Enjoy your new Hawaii driving license!