- Illinois DMV Driver Services: Your Unofficial Guide
- How to Pass Illinois Permit Test
How to Pass Illinois Permit Test
If you drive in Illinois you need to have an Illinois driver license. Getting one is pretty simple, but it does take time and effort. Use this article as your guide while working towards your license. Remember if you need any help you can always contact the Illinois Department of Transportation.
How To Proceed
Make Sure that You Meet Illinois Drivers License Requirements
There are several requirements to getting a drivers license in Illinois. Since getting a license can take a bit of time, it is a good idea to make sure you qualify right from the start. You can get your permit at age 15 in Illinois and a restricted license at 16. Drivers under 20 have a special graduated license with special provisions determined by age and driving experience. A complete list of the driving requirements in Illinois can be obtained at the Illinois DMV.
Gather the Required Documentation
Next you will want to start rounding up the required documents to apply for your permit. It is a good idea to make a checklist to ensure that everything makes it with you to the DMV. If you don’t have everything you need you won’t be able to apply for your license. You will need one piece of ID that verifies your written signature, another for your date of birth, one for your residency and another for your social security number. A complete list of documents is available through your local DMV or online.
Study the Illinois Drivers Handbook
Before you can get your license, you will need to take a permit test. This can be accomplished by studying the information in the state provided handbook. These handbooks are available online and are typically free of charge. They cover a variety of topics from safety to vehicle regulations. Everything you need to know about driving in the state is in this handbook including information on Illinois drunk driving laws.
Schedule a DMV Appointment for the Permit Test
When you are comfortable with your knowledge, schedule an appointment to take your permit test. While appointments aren’t required, they can save you a lot of time.
Fill Out the Required Paperwork
When you go in to take your knowledge test you will have to first fill out an application. At this time you will also show your documentation and pay your licensing fee. If you are under 18 you will have to show proof of enrollment in Illinois drivers ed. Minors should also bring their parents as they are required to sign the application in person as well.
Take the Illinois Drivers Permit Test
After careful studying you can take the permit test. This test will include a variety of information taken from the state’s driver handbook. It will be a written, multiple choice test. The fee for your license and permit is $30.
Start Practicing with Illinois Drivers Over 21
Once you have your permit you will be able to practice Illinois driving as long as you have a licensed driver over 21 in the front passenger seat. Your driver must have an Illinois driving license. Some driving schools in Illinois also provide on the road practice with a licensed instructor.
Schedule an Illinois Driving Test
After you get plenty of practice, make sure that you schedule your driving test. Minors must wait at least 9 months from the time they received their permit and must also have 50 hours of behind the wheel practice.
Take Your Illinois License Driving Test
This test will require you to demonstrate your ability to safely drive. Remember you must provide your own vehicle with a current Illinois vehicle registration to be able to take the test. Make sure that you drive carefully and that you don’t bring any pets to your driving test as they are not allowed in the vehicle with you.
Enjoy Your Illinois Drivers License
Congratulations on your new Illinois license! Getting a drivers license is an exciting achievement. Make sure that you follow the rules of the road and that you drive safely. If you are under 20 you will also have specific provisions due to Illinois graduated licensing program. Make sure you are aware of these regulations and that you follow them to ensure that you do not lose your license for any reason.