- FREE ME Permit Test Resources: Wake Up The Driver Inside You!
- How to Pass Maine Permit Test
How to Pass Maine Permit Test
- ME Practice Test 1
- ME Practice Test 2
- ME Practice Test 3
- ME Practice Test 4
- ME Practice Test 5
- ME Fines & Limits Test
- ME Signs & Situations Test
- ME Road Signs Test
- ME Marathon Test
- ME Motorcycle Test 1
- ME Motorcycle Test 2
- ME Motorcycle Test 3
- ME Motorcycle Test 4
- ME Motorcycle Test 5
- ME Moto Marathon Test
- ME Driver's Handbook
- ME Moto Handbook
How To Proceed
Research the Maine Drivers License Requirements
In any state if you want to drive, you have to meet specific qualifications. The requirements to drive change from state to state. In Maine you must be at least 16 and you must complete drivers education. If you are under 21 you will receive a provisional license which can be revoked if you have a serious violation and if you are under 18 you will receive an intermediate license that carries specific restrictions like limited driving privileges and times.
Get a Copy of the Drivers Handbook
As a Maine driver you need to know the rules and regulations that apply to you. A great way to learn these quickly is by using the Maine drivers handbook. This book is published by the state and is available online or through the Maine Dept of Motor Vehicles. Pick up a guide today so that you will have the information you need at your fingertips when you are ready to start studying.
Study Your Maine Drivers Manual Thoroughly
After you pick up the drivers handbook, set aside plenty of time to read and study it. Make sure you pay special attention to the areas on traffic safety and laws. These will likely be a focus on the Maine learners permit test.
Take a Maine Permit Practice Test to Assess Your Knowledge
If you want to be sure that you have studied enough, take a practice test. These tests will show you both the format of the Maine DMV test as well as the type of questions to expect. When you can successfully pass the Maine practice permit test, you are probably ready for the real thing.
Provide Your Documentation
When you go into the Maine DMV for your permit test, you will first have to provide proof of identity. You will need to prove your name, age and address. Additionally if your social security number is not on file with the state you will also need to provide your social security number. You will also pay a $10 testing fee at this time.
Take the Maine Driving Permit Test
Your permit test will be a series of multiple choice questions. You will choose the best answer for each throughout the test. You must answer a majority of the questions correctly to pass. However, once you do you can get your Maine driving permit. Remember if you don’t pass, you can always take the test again later after you have had more time to study if you pay the fee again.
Pick Up Your Permit
Once you pass the Maine permit test, you can pick up your permit. You will have to have a licensed driver of at least 20 with 2 years of experience in the car at all times with you. If you are under 18 you must complete drivers ed. You will also have to log 35 practice hours.
Practice Driving with a Licensed Driver
Having the opportunity to practice your driving skills is a real advantage, so make sure that you use it. Get as much practice as possible in. Remember to get your license you will need both day and night practice. Always drive like you will at your test. Using your Maine learners permit will allow you to get the practice that you need for a successful drivers test at the Maine DMV.
Take Your Test
Once you are confident contact the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles and schedule your behind the wheel test. When you arrive at your test you will need to bring your own vehicle. Make sure that you drive safely and that you listen carefully to the instructions provided. If you pass you can get your license as soon as you pay a licensing fee of $30.
Follow the Provisions for Your License Type
Once you get your license make sure that you remember to follow your restrictions. There are several for drivers under 21 but a few of the most notable are that you cannot carry passengers under 20 until you are over 18, you cannot drive from midnight to 5 am and you cannot use a cell phone while driving.
Andrei Zakhareuski is the founder of Driving-Tests.org. He has been writing for beginner US drivers for several years.
Connect with Andrei at Google+