- FREE MD Permit Test Resources: Wake Up The Driver Inside You!
- How to Pass Maryland Permit Test
How to Pass Maryland Permit Test
- MD Practice Test 1
- MD Practice Test 2
- MD Practice Test 3
- MD Practice Test 4
- MD Practice Test 5
- MD Practice Test 1
- MD Marathon Test new
- MD Motorcycle Test 1
- MD Motorcycle Test 2
- MD Motorcycle Test 3
- MD Motorcycle Test 4
- MD Motorcycle Test 5
- MD Moto Marathon Test new
- MD Driver's Handbook
- MD Moto Handbook
How To Proceed
Learn the Drivers License Requirements from the Maryland MVA
There are very specific requirements that must be met to obtain a drivers license. You can find a complete list of the requirements at the MVA in Maryland. However a few things to bear in mind are that you must first obtain a rookie drivers license no matter your age unless you have been previously licensed in another state for at least 18 months. You will need to hold your permit for at least 9 months and be at least 16 and 6 months before you can get a provisional license.
Practice for the Maryland Permit Test
Once you know that you meet the minimum age requirements you should start studying for the Maryland permit test. This will be a written test that will test your knowledge on the information contained in the Maryland drivers handbook. Since the test will mainly focus of traffic safety and driving laws, pay special attention in these sections. While studying it is a good idea to take a look at a Maryland permit practice test so that you can be sure that you are studying the correct material.
Take a Maryland Practice Permit Test
When you comfortable with the amount of studying that you have done, take a Maryland learners permit practice test to be sure. This will be a multiple choice test that covers the information in the drivers handbook. You can easily find several great tests online. Keep taking practice tests and studying as needed until you are confident in your ability to pass a test with the information presented.
Fill Out Maryland DMV Paperwork
Next you will head over to the DMV and fill out the necessary paperwork. You will need to prove your identity at this time and if you are under 18 will need to take parents along. You must be at least 15 years old and 9 months. If you are under 16 you will also need to provide a completed Learners Permit School Attendance Certification form. You will take a vision test at this point as well. Some examples of acceptable forms of identification include a birth certificate, passport, social security card, W-2 form, checking account statement, or a selective service card. Please check with the Maryland MVA for a complete list of requirements.
Take the Permit Test
Now you will need to take and pass the knowledge portion of the Maryland DMV test. If you have studied your handbook and taken a Maryland drivers permit practice test, you should be ready and have no problem passing. You will need to pay a fee of $50 for your learners permit.
Find Out the Graduated Licensing Requirements
Since all Maryland drivers must fulfill the graduated licensing requirements before they can get a license, it is important to familiarize yourself with them. Some of the requirements include that you must hold your permit for at least 9 months, must have 60 hours of practice, no cell phones while driving if under 18, and more.
Take the Skills Test
Once you have met the minimum qualifications of the graduated licensing program, you can apply for your provisional license. You will need to take a behind the wheel skills test first. Make sure that you follow all laws while in the vehicle, that you don’t use your cell phone and that you listen to your test administrator. Once you pass this test, you can receive a provisional Maryland drivers license.
Get Your Provisional License
Once you receive your provisional license, you must hold it for at least 18 months before you can receive your Maryland drivers license. If you receive any convictions, your provisional 18 months will start over. While you have a provisional license you cannot drive anyone under 18 if you are a minor for the first 151 days of holding your license. Additionally drivers under 18 can have their license cancelled at any time if their parent or guardian makes the request in writing to the DMV.
Meet the Requirements for a Regular Drivers License
If you have successfully held your license for the required period of time and are over 18, you can receive a drivers license. Congratulations this is a big achievement. After all, you had to learn new material, study for the Maryland DMV practice test, take multiple tests and practice your skills.
Enjoy Your New Maryland Drivers License
Once you receive a regular drivers license, make sure you drive carefully and observe all of Maryland’s driving laws so that you can keep your license and avoid getting tickets or causing accidents.
Andrei Zakhareuski is the founder of Driving-Tests.org. He has been writing for beginner US drivers for several years.
Connect with Andrei at Google+