How to Pass Your Montana Permit Test in 2016

If you live in Montana and want to drive, then you are going to need to get your driver’s license. The process is simple, but will take a lot of time and practice. Don’t be upset if it takes several months to prepare. Taking time will ensure that you learn the rules and regulations for driving in the state and will help you to have plenty of time to practice. Practice makes perfect and will help you to become a great driver. This article will guide you through the licensing process and will help you to pass your Montana DMV tests successfully.

How To Proceed

  1. 1

    What Are The Requirements for a Drivers License?

    Every state sets their own requirements for holding a drivers license. If you live in Montana some of the requirements are that you have parental consent if you are under 18, pass a written, vision and driving test, pay the appropriate fee and verify your identity. You can get your permit at 14 ? if you enroll in drivers education.

  2. 2

    Applicants with a License From Another State

    One of the easiest ways to get a Montana drivers license is if you have a drivers license from another state. If this is the case, simply apply within 60 days of moving and provide the appropriate documentation. You may be required to take the written and driving tests at the examiners discretion. It might be a good idea to brush up on your knowledge before heading into the Montana DMV.

  3. 3

    1st Time Applicants

    Getting your license for the first time will take a little more work. You will have to prepare for the permit test, hold a permit for at least 6 months if you are under 18 and take a driving test. Additionally you will have to hold a restricted license for the first year if you get your license before 18. Some drivers are required to take Montana drivers education.

  4. 4

    Start Studying Your Montana Drivers Handbook

    Your drivers handbook will be a priceless reference to help you get your license. Carefully study this book. If you don’t already have one, you can get them online or through the Department of Driver Services.

  5. 5

    Take a Montana Permit Practice Test

    Taking a practice test will help you to gauge your level of preparedness for your permit test. Once you feel that you know the information well, take a Montana drivers license practice test. If you do well, you might be ready to go into take your permit test.

  6. 6

    Complete the Application for a Learners License

    When you are ready, head down to the Montana driver exam station nearest you. There are several of these stations and you should have no trouble finding one nearby. When you come in remember that you will have to take a test, so make sure you have plenty of time. Try to allow for at least 2 hours, or schedule an appointment if possible. If you will be taking your permit test at a rural location, pay your fees before you go in for your test.

  7. 7

    Take Your Permit Test

    If you have studied and know the information in your handbook well you should do fine on your permit test. If you pass, you can receive your learners license which will allow you to drive with another driver for up to 1 year. This will be the 1st part of your Montana DMV test.

  8. 8

    Practice

    Once you have your learners license or permit, start practicing. Teen drivers will need at least 50 hours of practice with some of those hours occurring at night. Make sure that you practice under a variety of different road conditions including wet and snowy roads. If you have a TELL permit you must only drive with a parent or guardian.

  9. 9

    Schedule Your Montana Driving Test

    Teen drivers must hold a permit for at least 6 months before they can get their permit. Once you pass your Montana drivers license test, you can get your license. Remember teen drivers will need to hold a provisional license for at least one year.

  10. q

    Enjoy Your New License

    Once you get your license, make sure that you drive safely. One of the conditions of a provisional license is that everyone in the car must wear a seat belt at all times. Drive safely to avoid tickets, accidents and injury so that you can enjoy your new license for many years to come.

Rate this article:
was this article helpful?
5 out of 5 based on 1 votes. 1

© 2010-2016 Driving-Tests.org

Driving-Tests.org is a privately owned website that is not affiliated with or operated by any state government agency.