- Free NC DMV Practice Tests for Car (11), Motorcycle (9) and CDL (12)
- How to Pass North Carolina Permit Test
How to Pass North Carolina Permit Test
This guide is here to help you pass your North Carolina DMV Test. It will teach you everything that you need to know about getting a North Carolina driver license from getting your permit to taking your behind the wheel test. We know that the process can be complicated, but with the guidance provided in this article it will be much easier. Make sure that you always consult your DMV or NC drivers handbook for the most up to date information on learning to drive in North Carolina.
How To Proceed
Learn the Requirements
To get your license you will need to meet certain qualifications. In North Carolina you must be at least 18. Remember that driving is a privilege and can be revoked at any time.
Gather Your Documentation
You will need to supply documentation to verify your name and age. Make sure that you bring at least 2 forms and that one contains your full, legal name including your middle name. One form of ID must have your birth date on it. You will also need to verify residency by providing your apartment lease, utility bills or mortgage statement. Also bring along proof of liability insurance. If you donвЂ™t have a vehicle or insurance and would like a drivers license you must have a restriction placed on your license. It will only allow you to drive fleet vehicles. Once you have insurance of your own, this restriction can be removed for $10.
Study the Drivers Handbook as You Prepare for Your DMV NC Practice Test
Your state issued drivers handbook will teach you everything you need to know to pass your permit test. Pick one up at the North Carolina DMV or find one online. Read it carefully and focus your studies toward your test. Remember you will have to pass a road rules, road signs and vision test to get your permit.
Take a North Carolina Practice Permit Test
Once you are comfortable with the information in the drivers handbook, take a practice test and see how you do. If you can easily pass a practice test, you should have no trouble on your actual test. Taking a NC practice test is a very good idea.
Fill Out DMV Paperwork
Now you can head on over to the DMV to fill out your paperwork. Make sure you bring your documentation and a $15 fee.
Take Your Tests
At the DMV you will take a road signs, written and vision tests. You will find most of the information you will need in your drivers handbook. You can wear corrective lenses for your vision test, but then they must be worn at all times when operating the vehicle.
Practice Your Skills
If you pass the tests you will get your NC learners permit. You must practice your driving skills with a licensed driver in the front seat. Your permit is good for 18 months, but you can take your license test whenever you are ready.
Take Your Skills Test
When you go to the DMV to take a North Carolina driving test make sure that you bring a licensed and registered vehicle. You will be required to show your ability to safely drive in an on the road test with a test administrator. Follow laws, speed limits and good practices for drivers safety.
Pay a Fee
If you pass the road test you can get your license by paying a $4 licensing fee. You will receive an interim license that is good for 20 days and your actual physical license will be mailed to you. They generally arrive within 5-10 days.
Enjoy Your North Carolina Driving License
Now that you have your license, enjoy it. Be sure to be careful and donвЂ™t forget to buckle up.