- FREE OR Permit Test Resources: Wake Up The Driver Inside You!
- How to Pass Your Oregon Permit Test in 2014
How to Pass Your Oregon Permit Test in 2014
- OR Practice Test 1
- OR Practice Test 2
- OR Practice Test 3
- OR Practice Test 4
- OR Practice Test 5
- OR Fines & Limits Test
- OR Signs & Situations Test
- OR Road Signs Test
- OR Marathon Test
- OR Motorcycle Test 1
- OR Motorcycle Test 2
- OR Motorcycle Test 3
- OR Motorcycle Test 4
- OR Motorcycle Test 5
- OR Moto Marathon Test
- OR Driver's Handbook
- OR Moto Handbook
How To Proceed
Make Sure You Qualify
If you want an Oregon license you will have to meet certain specific requirements. You can get a provisional license if you are 16 or 17 and a full license if you are 18 or above. You must be a resident of the state, not have a suspended license in any other state, have no medical issues and prove your identity.
Gather Your Paperwork
You will need to gather a variety of different documents to provide to the Oregon DMV. These documents will verify your identity and eligibility for a license. If you are under 18 you will need to provide a school enrollment form as well. Some examples of qualifying ID include birth certificate, passport and a social security card. Get a complete list from the DMV.
Study the Drivers Handbook from the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
You will need to study for your permit test. The state provided handbook is an excellent guide. You can get one from the DMV or find one online at the DMV website. Read this guide completely and study the entire guide carefully. This guide will help you prepare for your Oregon permit test.
Take an Oregon Permit Practice Test
Every time you go to the DMV to take a Oregon DMV permit test, it will take time. Make sure that you only have to do it once by taking a practice test. This test will be very similar to the actual test and will consist of a variety of multiple choice questions about road safety and driving regulations. Your Oregon DMV permit test will cost $23.50.
Consider Taking Driving School
While not required, you should give some consideration to enrolling in an Oregon driving school. These schools provide on the road training, defensive driving skills and more.
Practice with a Licensed Driver
You can practice your driving skills with a licensed driver. Make sure that they are always in the front seat next to you and that everyone in the vehicle wears their seat belt. If you are under 18 your licensed driver must be at least 25.
Fulfill State Mandated Driving Minimums
Drivers under 18 must hold their permit for at least 6 months and must get 50 hours on the road. Try to practice during the day and night and in a variety of weather conditions. It is a good idea to practice with the test in mind.
Take Your Test
Now you are ready to take your DMV driving test. This test will ensure that you can safely drive on the roads with other drivers.
Fulfill Graduated Requirements
Drivers under 18 will receive a provisional license after passing their on the road test. Some of the restrictions that you will face will include not being able to drive at night for the first 6 months and you canтАЩt have any passengers under 20. Make sure that you find out the restrictions and that you follow them.
Enjoy Your License
Congratulations on getting your new Oregon drivers license. Always carry it with you while you drive and be sure to follow the rules that you have learned as you prepared for your license.
Andrei Zakhareuski is the founder of Driving-Tests.org. He has been writing for beginner US drivers for several years.
Connect with Andrei at Google+