- Free SD DMV Practice Tests for Car (11), Motorcycle (9) and CDL (12)
- How to Pass Your South Dakota Permit Test in 2017
How to Pass Your South Dakota Permit Test in 2017
Feeling a little nervous about getting a first time drivers license is common. The process can be difficult and will require time, practice, studying and determination. Before you start, it is a good idea to know what to expect. This will help you to save time and money and will ensure that you know which steps to follow. This guide will help you get your South Dakota drivers license. While it contains much important information, remember that the South Dakota Department of Motor Vehicles will be able to provide any answers that we cannot and will always have the most up to date information regarding passing your DMV tests.
How To Proceed
Make Sure That You Qualify
Since you will have to spend time and money preparing for your drivers license, you should make sure that you meet the minimum age and health requirements before you start the licensing process. In South Dakota you must be at least 14 years old to get a permit. You must also be physically able to drive. Before you can get your license you will have to pass a vision test. You will not qualify for a license if you owe more than $1,000 in back child support or if you are in the U.S. illegally.
Read the DMV Handbook
Each state provides a special handbook to their drivers that covers the laws and safety requirements for driving in the state. You get your own copy of the state drivers handbook from the South Dakota DMV or can even find one online. Once you have your handbook, make sure to read the entire guide. It will teach you everything you need to know to pass your permit test.
Collect the Necessary ID
You need to prove your identity to get a drivers license. In South Dakota you will need to provide an identity document like a birth certificate or passport. Make sure that your name is the same on your document as it now is. If you have changed your name, you will also need to provide legal proof of your name change such as a marriage license. If you have changed your name multiple times, you will need to bring documentation for each name change. You also need to prove your social security number and address. If you are under 18 and do not have the needed address verification documents, they can be provided by your parent.
Find a Local DMV
Next you will need to do a little research to find the most convenient DMV location. You will have to go to the DMV multiple times throughout the licensing process, so find a convenient location. You can find a list of locations online.
Fill Out DMV Paperwork
Now you must go to the DMV and fill out the needed paperwork. If you are under 18 make sure that you take your parent along with you. Also bring the ID forms that you have already gathered.
Take Your South Dakota Permit Test
After you have completed the paperwork, you will take a 25 question multiple choice test. This test will be able driving laws and traffic safety. You must score at least 80% to pass. If you fail, you can attempt a total of 3 times without paying additional fees of completing the application again. Remember you only have 3 test tries between the written and the skills test. This means that you can only retake 1 of the two tests.
Once you have your permit you can start practicing. The permit test is the first half of your South Dakota DMV test. As you practice, keep the South Dakota driving test in mind. Always practice like you are taking a test.
Take Your Road Test
When you are comfortable you can take your South Dakota drivers test. If you are a minor you must wait at least 6 months from the time you received your permit. You need 80% to pass this test and will automatically fail if you break any laws or do anything dangerous. You will need to provide your own vehicle which must have valid South Dakota vehicle registration.
Follow Graduated Licensing Requirements
Teen drivers have specific graduated licensing requirements that they must follow to drive. All minors must have parental consent to drive. If you receive a ticket and are under 16 you will lose driving privileges for at least 30 days. Also you cannot drive without a parent in the car after 10 pm or before 6 am until you receive a full unrestricted license. Other conditions may apply, so carefully read and understand these regulations to avoid losing your license.
Enjoy Your New License
Good luck on your licensing journey. Getting a drivers license is a big achievement and you should be proud.