- FREE VA Permit Test Resources: Wake Up The Driver Inside You!
- How to Pass Virginia Permit Test
How to Pass Virginia Permit Test
- VA Practice Test 1
- VA Practice Test 2
- VA Practice Test 3
- VA Practice Test 4
- VA Practice Test 5
- VA Practice Test 1
- VA Marathon Test new
- VA Motorcycle Test 1
- VA Motorcycle Test 2
- VA Motorcycle Test 3
- VA Motorcycle Test 4
- VA Motorcycle Test 5
- VA Moto Marathon Test new
- VA Driver's Handbook
- VA Moto Handbook
How To Proceed
Meet the Requirements
To get a license you must meet the state’s minimum requirements. This means that you need to be at least 16 years old and 3 months for a license. You can start the licensing process by getting your permit at 15 years and 6 months. Minors must have signed, written permission from a parent unless they are married or emancipated.
Study for Your Permit Test
One of the first steps in getting your license will be passing the Virginia permit test. Start studying early so you have plenty of time to practice. The state drivers handbook should be one of your primary study resources.
Take a VA DMV Practice Test
After a little studying, test your knowledge with a VA learners permit practice test. This will help you determine if you understand the information well enough to take your VA DMV test. Taking a VA permit practice test will help you to ensure that you pass your permit test the first time around.
Gather Documents for Identity Verification
You will need to provide proof of identity in order to receive your permit and license. Find documents like your expired drivers license, social security card and proof of address. Original documents are required. Get a list of acceptable ID online at the DMV website.
Teen Drivers Must Enroll in Drivers Ed
If you are 19 or younger you will need to complete drivers ed. This will help you to learn valuable driving skills and will be an asset that will make the licensing process much easier.
Fill Out Your Application
When you are ready and have passed your Virginia permit practice test, you can head on over to the DMV and fill out an application. At this time you will have a photo taken, will take a vision test and a written test. The fee is $3, plus an additional $4 per year for a drivers license.
Take Your Written Permit Test
When taking your written permit test make sure that you take your time. You must pass this test if you want to receive your permit.
With your permit you can start driving as long as you have a licensed driver of at least 21 in the front seat of the car. Additional restrictions may apply, so be sure that you understand the requirements before you start driving.
Take Your Virginia DMV Skills Test
If you are under 18 you will need to hold a permit for at least 9 months. Other drivers can take their skills test whenever they are ready. During your skills test you will use your own vehicle to demonstrate various driving skills. If you pass, you will get your license.
Obey the Law and Continue Following the Principles Learned
Now that you have your license you can start driving. Make sure that you drive carefully and that you adhere to any specific provisional requirements associated with your license.
Andrei Zakhareuski is the founder of Driving-Tests.org. He has been writing for beginner US drivers for several years.
Connect with Andrei at Google+