- FREE WA Permit Test Resources: Wake Up The Driver Inside You!
- How to Pass Washington Permit test
How to Pass Washington Permit test
- WA Practice Test 1
- WA Practice Test 2
- WA Practice Test 3
- WA Practice Test 4
- WA Practice Test 5
- WA Practice Test 1
- WA Marathon Test new
- WA Motorcycle Test 1
- WA Motorcycle Test 2
- WA Motorcycle Test 3
- WA Motorcycle Test 4
- WA Motorcycle Test 5
- WA Moto Marathon Test new
- WA Driver's Handbook
- WA Moto Handbook
How To Proceed
Meet Age and Other Requirements
To get a license in Washington you must be at least 16 years old. You must also be physically able to drive and cannot have a suspended or revoked license in another state. Make sure that you meet these minimum requirements before you apply for your license. You should be aware however that you can apply for your permit at 15 as long as you complete a drivers ed course. You can get your permit up to 10 days before your course begins.
Get a Handbook
To start studying for your permit test you need to pick up a copy of the state drivers handbook. Find one online or get one from the Washington DMV.
Study the Handbook
Now that you have your drivers handbook, you can start studying. All of the information in this guide is important, but the information about driving laws and traffic safety will prove invaluable when you go in for your test.
Take a WA Permit Practice Test
After a few hours of studying you can see how you are doing by taking a Washington practice test. This WA DMV practice test will consist of multiple choice questions about the information in the guide. If you pass several practice tests, you can probably take your actual permit test. If you struggle on these tests, keep studying until you are more confident in the information.
Go to the DMV and Complete Paperwork
Now you can head to the DMV to complete paperwork. If you are 15 you will need to take along proof of enrollment in drivers ed. Other drivers just need to supply documents that prove their name, age, identity and residency. If you are unsure which documents are needed, check with the DMV. Bring along your parents if you are under 18 and $20 cash or check.
Take Your Washington DMV Tests
Now you will start taking your DMV tests. You will need to take your written and vision tests during this initial DMV visit. Your vision test will include a color recognition test.
Use Your Washington Learners Permit to Practice
With a learners permit you can drive with a licensed driver that has at least 5 years of driving experience. They will need to remain alert at all times and sit in the front seat with you.
Schedule Your WA Driving Test
Teen drivers must hold their permit for at least 6 months and must meet minimum numbers of driving hours. As you practice complete a driving log to verify your hours. Also you will need to complete drivers ed. Other drivers may schedule their test when they feel ready.
Take Your Skills Test
This test will be taken in a vehicle you provide. You will drive with a test administrator and show your ability to complete a variety of skills. Remember that breaking the law is an automatic fail. Drive safely and wear your seatbelt.
Enjoy Your License
If you pass the test you will receive a 45 day temporary license. You will also need to pay $25. Your official license will be mailed shortly. Teen drivers may have additional provisions and restrictions, so make sure you understand which rules apply to you.
Andrei Zakhareuski is the founder of Driving-Tests.org. He has been writing for beginner US drivers for several years.
Connect with Andrei at Google+