- FREE MN Permit Test Resources: Wake Up The Driver Inside You!
- How to Pass Minnesota Permit Test
How to Pass Minnesota Permit Test
- MN Practice Test 1
- MN Practice Test 2
- MN Practice Test 3
- MN Practice Test 4
- MN Practice Test 5
- MN Practice Test 1
- MN Practice Test 6
- MN Practice Test 1
- MN Marathon Test new
- MN Motorcycle Test 1
- MN Motorcycle Test 2
- MN Motorcycle Test 3
- MN Motorcycle Test 4
- MN Motorcycle Test 5
- MN Moto Marathon Test new
- MN Driver's Handbook
- MN Moto Handbook
How To Proceed
Get a Copy of the Minnesota Drivers Handbook
If you want to know how to drive in Minnesota, you first need to understand the rules and regulations. You can find the handbook online or in your local DMV office. This will be an invaluable reference that you can use when studying and learning the rules of the road in your state.
Make Sure that You Meet the Requirements
Once you pick up your Minnesota drivers handbook, make sure that you carefully review it to ensure that you meet their minimum qualifications. Requirements vary based on age, however all drivers under 18 will have to first hold a graduated license before they can receive a restriction free license.
Find the Necessary Paperwork
You will need to prove your identity, age and residency to get a Minnesota drivers license. Start gathering the necessary documents now so that you will have them ready when you are able to go in for your Minnesota permit test. Some examples of acceptable documents include a birth certificate, a US passport or a social security card. Contact the department of Driver and Vehicle Services for complete information or look in your handbook. If you start rounding this documentation up early, you will have plenty of time to get a replacement of anything that you are missing.
Find the Minnesota DMV Locations and Fill Out Your Paperwork
You will need to go into the DMV to fill out your paperwork for your permit. If you don’t know where the nearest location is, you can easily find the location online. When you go make sure that you bring your necessary documentation as well as a parent if you are under 18.
Take Your Minnesota Learners Permit Test
Taking your permit test is the first half of your Minnesota DMV test. This will cover questions taken directly from the drivers handbook. Make sure that you focus your studies on traffic safety and laws. If you know the information in this guide and have taken a MN permit practice test, you should be able to easily pass the test.
Pick Up Your Permit and Start Practicing
If you pass your permit test you will receive your permit. There is no fee for a permit if it is a class A, B or C permit. If you are testing for a class D license the permit fee is $12.
Make Sure You Practice in a Variety of Weather Conditions
With your permit you can practice driving on MN roads as long as you have a licensed driver in the front seat with you. During this time make sure that you practice in a variety of different road conditions including bad weather and at night. Also complete an approved drivers training course while you hold your Minnesota learners permit.
Take Your Minnesota Driving Test
If you are at least 16, have held your permit for at least 6 months (3 months if over 18), completed drivers ed and driven at least 30 hours under supervision of a driver over 21, you are ready to take your behind the wheel test. Make sure that you schedule an appointment and that you provide your own vehicle. This vehicle must meet state minimum safety standards and be properly licensed and registered. If you can demonstrate your ability to drive safely, you will pass the test and receive your license. If you are under 18 and fail the behind the wheel test 4 times or more, you will have to enroll in a 6 hour training course before you can retest.
Follow Graduated Licensing Requirements
Once you pass your MN drivers license test you can receive a license. If you are under 18 you will have special licensing restrictions. You will have to pay a $15 fee. You can not use a cell phone during this time and all passengers must wear seat belts. During the first 6 months you cannot drive between midnight and 5 am. You also cannot drive more than 1 passenger under 20 during the first 6 months and no more than 3 passengers under 20 for the second 6 months.
Get Your Official MN Drivers License
If you meet these requirements you can receive a full license at 18. If you don’t have any tickets during your provisional time you can receive a $3.50 credit toward the $43 price.
Andrei Zakhareuski is the founder of Driving-Tests.org. He has been writing for beginner US drivers for several years.
Connect with Andrei at Google+