- FREE FL Permit Test Resources: Wake Up The Driver Inside You!
- How to Pass Florida Permit Test
How to Pass Florida Permit Test
- FL Practice Test 1
- FL Practice Test 2
- FL Practice Test 3
- FL Practice Test 4
- FL Practice Test 5
- FL Practice Test 1
- FL Practice Test 1
- FL Marathon Test new
- FL Motorcycle Test 1
- FL Motorcycle Test 2
- FL Motorcycle Test 3
- FL Motorcycle Test 4
- FL Motorcycle Test 5
- FL Moto Marathon Test new
- FL Driver's Handbook
- FL Moto Handbook
How To Proceed
Find Out if Your Qualify for a Florida Drivers License
Since getting a Florida drivers license can take a lot of time and effort, it is a good idea to make sure that you meet the state’s qualifications before you invest any time. You can find a complete list of qualifications from the Florida DMV, however in general you must be at least 16 and able to drive. In addition, those with suspended licenses in other states do not qualify for a Florida drivers license.
Gather Your Required Documents
Several documents are required to get a Florida driving license. The DMV offers a helpful checklist to help you prepare which can be printed off online. In general you will need to bring your social security card, proof of birth date, proof of address and identification which can include a birth certificate or passport. Start gathering these early so that you can obtain duplicates if anything is lost or missing.
Study the Florida Driving Handbooks
You can find the complete Florida drivers manual online. This can be easily printed off, or can be ordered for a small fee. This handbook covers everything you need to know from defensive driving to the Florida drivers permit test. Make sure that you study this handbook carefully as the information inside will be on your permit test.
Take an Approved Driver Training Course
All Florida drivers must complete a traffic law and substance abuse course before they can get a drivers license. Upon completion of this course you will receive a certificate which can be provided to the DMV upon request.
Fill Out DMV Paperwork
When you are comfortable with your knowledge of the information in the Florida drivers handbook, you can head on down to the Florida Dept of Motor Vehicles for your permit test. First, you will fill out paperwork and provide your documentation. You will also pay your permit fee at this time which is $48. If you have to retest, each additional test will cost $10.
Take the Required Tests for Your Florida Drivers Permit
There are several required elements in the Florida permit test. Each of these is required for driving in Florida. You will need to take a vision test, hearing test, road signs test and a road rules test at this time. If you pass each of these tests successfully, you will able to get your Florida learners permit. If you do not pass one of these tests, you will need to correct the problem and come back later.
Use Your Florida Drivers Permit to Practice Your Skills
Once you get your permit you can practice on the road driving. Remember to practice your Florida defensive driving skills because these will be essential in helping you to avoid accidents once you have your license. Always practice with the Florida drivers license test in mind so that you will not develop bad habits and will obtain the skills necessary to pass your test.
Schedule Your Behind the Wheel Florida Driving Test
Appointments are required to take your Florida driving test so make sure you plan ahead and make an appointment by calling the Florida DMV.
Take Your Florida Driving Test
To take your Florida driving test you will need to provide your own vehicle. Make sure that it has Florida license plates, current registration and is equipped with required safety features like lights and seat belts. You will need to demonstrate your ability to drive safely, back up, park and watch for traffic. If you commit a serious violation or an unsafe act, you will automatically be required to retake the test. A number of smaller violations can also require a retest.
Start Using Your New Driving License
Once you meet these requirements you can have a Florida drivers license of your own. Remember that if you are a minor it will be a graduated or provisional license. Special restrictions will apply and failure to follow them can result in suspension or loss of license. Have fun and enjoy your new license.
Andrei Zakhareuski is the founder of Driving-Tests.org. He has been writing for beginner US drivers for several years.
Connect with Andrei at Google+