- Free ID DMV Practice Tests for Car (11), Motorcycle (9) and CDL (12)
- How to Pass Your Idaho Drivers Test in 2016
How to Pass Your Idaho Drivers Test in 2016
Drivers in Idaho all need to have a driver’s license. To get one you will need to first get a permit and then practice until you are comfortable with driving. Here is a step by step guide to help you get your first driver’s license in Idaho.
How To Proceed
Learn the Requirements for an Idaho License
Before you can start driving on the roads in Idaho you will need to get a permit. You will have to fill out paperwork at the Idaho DMV and also take a learners permit test. Before you put in a lot of time and effort studying, make sure you qualify for a license in Idaho. Some of the Idaho drivers license requirements are that you must be at least 15 years old, able to drive and cannot have a suspended or revoked driving privilege in any other state.
Pick Up a Copy of the DMV Driver Handbook
You will need to carefully acquaint yourself with the laws and driving regulations in Idaho. One of the best ways to do this is with a drivers handbook from the DMV. This handbook will cover all of the information that you need to know. You can get one online or at a local DMV. In many cases they are also at local libraries.
Study the Handbook Information Carefully
You will need to understand a lot of information to pass your DMV test, so set aside several hours for studying. During this time review the information in your handbook several times. Pay special attention to the sections that cover safety. Being safe while driving is very important as your life and the lives of others depend on it.
Take a Practice Test
A great way to make sure that you know the information well enough is to take a practice test. You can find many DMV sample test questions online. Use these to create a sample test and see how you do. Once you are successfully passing the practice tests with no problem, you are probably ready to take the real test.
Schedule an Appointment for Your Permit Test
While you don’t have to make an appointment for your permit test, it might be a good idea. The Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles can get pretty busy and having an appointment can save you a lot of time.
Fill Out Idaho DMV Paperwork
When you go to the Idaho DMV for your permit test you will have to first fill out the paperwork. You will need to complete a small application, pay the appropriate fee, which is $3 for the test, and provide the appropriate documentation. The necessary documentation includes proof of residency, proof of age, proof of identity and your social security card. You can get a list of acceptable documents for each category from your local DMV. In addition if you are under 18 you will need to have a parent sign for liability. Minors must also prove school enrollment and a certificate of completion from one of many Idaho driving schools. Your permit will cost $15 if you pass the test.
Take Your Idaho Knowledge Test
The first test that you will have to take for your Idaho drivers license will be your knowledge test. This written test will cover a variety of topics from traffic safety to driving in adverse Idaho road conditions. It has 40 questions and you are allowed to miss a total of 6. If you carefully study for your test, you should be able to easily pass and get your permit.
Practice Regularly with a Licensed Adult
Once you have your permit you need to dedicate some time to study. You will need a certificate of completion to get your license. Since Idaho can have bad weather in the winter, make sure that you also practice driving in a variety of different weather conditions.
Schedule a Knowledge Test
When you feel comfortable, make an appointment to go in for a skills test. When you go to your test you will need a vehicle that meets minimum standards including Idaho license plates, $17.50 for your fee to be to the tester (Cash Only), and a receipt from your $6.50 fee paid to the county. You can get a current list of the skills testers from the DMV. Since you will be contacting the tester directly, make sure that you don’t call after 9 pm or before 8 am.
Take Your Skills Test
Your skills test will take about 30 minutes and you will be required to show the tester your ability to complete a variety of tasks. You will pay your $17.50 fee directly to them at the time of test. If you pass you will receive a sealed envelope with your test results inside. Do not open the envelope or you will have to test again. Instead take this to the Idaho Department of Transportation to receive your license.
Pick Up Your Drivers License
If you pass the skills test you can receive your license once you pay the fee. The fee is dependent on length of time and is $15 for 1 year or $25 for 3 years.
Follow the Rules of the Road and Enjoy Your New Idaho Drivers License
Remember if you are under 18 you will have a graduated license with certain restrictions. One of these is for 15 year olds specifically. If you are 15 you can only drive during daylight hours. Make sure you follow the rules for that you don’t lose your driving privileges.