FREE AL Permit Practice Test
If you’re 15 or older in Alabama, you can get a learner’s permit by taking a DMV written test. The test will be 30 multiple-choice questions based on information pulled from the 2019 Alabama Driver Manual, covering sections such as road signs, traffic laws, and safe driving precautions. To pass the exam, you’ll need to answer 24 of the questions correctly, to achieve a score of 80%. You will also need to pay a $5 testing fee and a $36.25 fee to have the license issued, as well as pass a vision exam. Checks are not accepted. If you’re under 18, you will need to hold your permit for at least six months before you can apply for a Stage II-restricted license. Use this written test to make sure you’re ready to take the real thing with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.
Get Instant Access with a Car Premium account
Pass the knowledge test, or get your money back. Guaranteed.
- 400+ Additional Practice Questions (including the ones most people fail)
- 12 Members-Only Practice Tests & Exam Simulators
- 2 Exclusive Cheat Sheets (including 100 Most Frequently Asked Questions)
PLUS: No ads, unlimited re-takes, our Pass Guarantee, and more!Learn more Already a Premium member?
Alabama DMV Permit Test Fact Sheet
|How many questions:||30|
|How many correct answers to pass:||24|
|Minimum age to apply for Class D Learner License||15|
AL DMV Driver's Handbook
View the most recent (2019) official AL DMV Driver's License Handbook.Explore