How to Pass Your Vermont Permit Test in 2019
Are you ready to start driving in Vermont? You will need a Vermont drivers license. If you are from another state and just visiting, you can drive with your out of state license. Remember it is a requirement to hold a license if you want to drive in VT. If you don’t have your license yet, don’t worry. Getting it is pretty simple. All you have to do is take a couple of tests, pay a fee and practice your driving skills. Read on to learn more about the steps that you must take.
How To Proceed
Ask Yourself, “Do I Meet the Requirements?”
All drivers in Vermont must meet a few specific qualifications. These include a minimum driving age, residency requirements and the ability to safely operate a vehicle. If you cannot meet these requirements, you cannot apply for a drivers license. The driving age in Vermont is 16, although if you want to start driving then, you will need to get your Vermont drivers permit at 15.
Find a Drivers Handbook
The state creates a really informative guide that will help you get your license. It is commonly known as the Vermont drivers handbook. You can find a copy online or at the Vermont DMV.
Study Your Handbook
The information in the handbook will help you to pass your Vermont permit test. Once you have your handbook, read the entire guide. Study the sections that concern traffic safety, driving laws and requirements carefully.
Take a VT Permit Practice Test
When you feel like you understand the information in the DMV handbook, consider taking a practice test. This will help you gauge your understanding. Once you have completed the Vermont permit practice test, study the areas where you missed questions a little more. Keep repeating this process until you pass the DMV provided Vermont permit practice test each and every time.
When you go in to the DMV you will need to fill out an application form. You will also need to verify your identity. Gather up the required documents so that you have them ready when you go in. If you are missing any required documents you will need to get duplicates before you can apply for your drivers license. Duplicates are not permitted. Some documents that you will need include a birth certificate, social security card and proof of residency. You can contact the DMV to find a complete list of required documents.
Fill Out DMV Paperwork
Go to the DMV and fill out an application for getting a license. If you are under 18 you will need to take your parents with you. Make sure that you bring along your documentation.
Take Your Written Vermont DMV Test
Once you fill out your application, supply your documentation and pay the required fee, you will be asked to take a written test. If you pass this test, you will receive your permit. Your Vermont learners permit fee is $17.
With your permit you can drive in Vermont as long as you have a licensed driver in the front seat with you. Your driver must meet minimum age requirements and other requirements. Make sure that you understand the DMV qualifications before you start driving.
Take Your Skills Test
Once you have had plenty of practice, contact the DMV and schedule your skills test. You will need to demonstrate your driving abilities in a behind the wheel driving scenario. You must supply your own vehicle and it must be registered and insured. If you are under 18 you will need your permit for at least year. The license fee is $15 plus an additional $25 for an enhanced Vermont drivers license. Teen drivers must complete drivers education to receive a license.
Follow Graduated Licensing Requirements
Adult drivers will receive their official license after passing the skills test. Teen drivers will receive a special a Vermont junior operators license. Make sure that you understand the applicable restrictions.